top of page
  • Writer's pictureLillymaidesigns

Manifesting What Inspires Us



A friend recommended me to listen to the podcast ‘Saturn Returns’ by Caggie Dunlop. ‘Moon Magic’ explores how being in sync with the lunar cycle can help us understand our moods and make the most of the moon’s transformational power. I listened to this when we all were in the midst of peak lockdown. It was helpful in considering that though we can be aware of how our own emotions and behaviours can determine our own outcomes. We are also not the sole navigators to how we may process our own experiences. The moon cycle allowed me to contemplate the influences of the higher powers in our existence. With this in mind, I became mindful of my own ‘Corona-Coaster’ and appreciated why some days seemed more challenging and tiring than others.

The moon is a feminine symbol, universally representing the rhythm of time as it embodies the cycle. The phases of the moon symbolise immortality and eternity, enlightenment or the dark side of nature herself. This seemed significant to pay attention to when experiencing a pandemic!

That afternoon after listening to the podcast, I went to the studio and decided to create an abstract piece involving moon/femine colours such as pinks, silvers and blues. I used the technique of acrylic pouring to unite these colours. I enjoyed the spontaneity of the pour, I felt that the lack of control that exists in the pour, mirrored the aspect of surrendering and appreciating the lunar cycle.

Like with many of my paintings, this piece involved creating and erasing layers, until they started to play in harmony and as one.

I photographed each stage and when I started to feel like it was coming together, I noticed the moon shape that I had unconsciously created in the piece. I was moved and amused by the moons reveal in this painting.

I decided to message Caggie via Instagram to thank her for the podcast and what it inspired me to create. Her response to the message and the piece itself was so kind and grateful that I then asked her if she would like the painting and she said yes!

I delivered the piece to her myself, it was a proud moment to meet her and end the journey of my moon painting by giving it to the person that inspired the whole piece.

Give the podcast a listen and see if it inspires you!







19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page